Awards and Honours - Faculty of Veterinary Medicine

Alumni Awards and Recognition

UPEI recognizes its outstanding alumni through various events and awards.

Read about our various alumni awards: Distinguished Alumni Award, Inspiring Young Alumni Award, and the UPEI Alumni Association Legacy Award.

Atlantic Award of Excellence in Veterinary Medicine and Animal Care

Established in 2005, this annual award recognizes excellence in veterinary medicine and animal care in Atlantic Canada.

Past recipients include:

  • Dr. Ross K. Ainslie (2005)
  • Dr. George Irving (2006)
  • Dr. Bud Ings (2009)
  • Dr. Hubert Bennett (2010)
  • Dr. James Goltz (2011)
  • Dr. Bert Stevenson (2012)
  • Dr. Jim Berry (2013)
  • Dr. Ernie Prowse (2014)
  • Dr. Hugh Whitney (2015)
  • Dr. Alice Crook (2016)
  • Dr. Helene Van Doninck (2017)
  • Dr. Étienne Côté (2018)
  • Dr. Eric Carnegy (2019)
  • Dr. Gary Conboy (2021) 

A call for nominations will be issued in early December each year. The deadline for applications is January 31.

Atlantic Veterinary College

Relevant Links