Senate Members

The Senate comprises the President of the University; the Vice-Presidents of the University; the Deans of Faculties and Schools; the Registrar; the University Librarian and Director of the Office of Skills Development and Learning; six members of the student body, at least one of whom is a mature or part-time student or both; the President of the Student Union; one member of the Board of Governors; one member of the Alumni Association; and twenty-two members elected from the full-time teaching faculty.

Members of Senate 2023–2024

Ex Officio

  • Greg Keefe, BSc, DVM, MSc – Interim President
  • Tara Judson BBA, CPA, CA – Interim Vice-President, Administration and Finance
  • Greg Naterer, PhD, PEng, FCSME, FCAE, FEIC, FAIAA – Vice-President, Academic and Research
  • Susan Connolly, BA, LLB – Interim Vice-President, People and Culture
  • Andrea Trowbridge, BBA – Interim Registrar
  • Sharon Myers, BA, MA, PhD – Interim Dean of Arts
  • Nola Etkin, BSc, PhD – Dean of Science
  • Miles Turnbull, BA, MA, PhD – Dean of Education
  • Tarek Mady, PhD – Dean of Business
  • Dominique Griffon, DVM, MSc, PhD, DECVS, DACVS – Dean of Veterinary Medicine
  • Christina Murray, BA, BScN, MN, PhD – Dean of Nursing
  • Marva Sweeney-Nixon, BSc, MSc, PhD – Associate VP (Research) and Dean of Graduate Studies
  • Wayne Peters, PEng, PhD – Interim Dean of Sustainable Design Engineering
  • Donald Moses, MLIS – University Librarian
  • Erin Reid, MA, BScEd – Interim Dean of Indigenous Knowledge, Education, Research, and Applied Studies 

Alumni Representative

  • Sjors Reijers (2026)

Board Representative

  • Mary Anne McMahon


  • Camille Mady (2024)
  • Noah Mannholland (2024)
  • Owen Brown (2024)
  • Anna MacLaren (2024)
  • Adam MacKenzie (2024)
  • George Jiang (2025)

Elected by the Teaching Faculty

Term expires 30 June 2024

  • Etienne Côté, BSc, DVM, Diplomate ACVIM and ACVIM (Cardiology) – Companion Animals AVC
  • Melanie Buote, BSc (Hon), DVM, DACVP, PhD – Path/Micro, AVC
  • Doreley Coll, BA, MA, PhD – Modern Languages, ARTS
  • *Robert Dennis, BA, MA, MA, PhD – Religious Studies, ARTS
  • **Carlo Lavoie, BA, MA, PhD - Modern Languages, ARTS
  • Barry Linkletter, BSc, PhD – Chemistry, SCIENCE
  • Cathy Ryan, BSc, MA, PhD – Psychology, ARTS
  • W. Ben Stoughton, DVM, PhD, DACVIM (LA) – Health Management, AVC
  • Amy Hsiao BS, MS, MBA, PhD – Sustainable Design Engineering, SCIENCE (Faculty at Large)
  • Travis Saunders, BSc, MSc, PhD – Applied Human Sciences, SCIENCE
  • Andrew Carrothers, BScEE, MBA, PhD, CFA, PEng – BUSINESS (Member at Large)

Term expires 30 June 2025

  • Alyson Campbell, BScN, PhD – NURSING
  • Bill Waterman, CPA, CMA, MBA – BUSINESS
  • Paul Bernard, BSc, PhD – Biomedical Sciences, AVC
  • Ann Braithwaite, BA, MA, PhD – Diversity and Social Justice Studies, ARTS
  • Rachelle Gauthier BEd, MEd, PhD – EDUCATION

Term expires 30 June 2026

  • Patrick Joseph Augustine, PhD – Indigenous Knowledge, Education Research and Applied Studies (Member at Large)
  • Kim Mears, MLIS, AHIP – LIBRARY (Member at Large)
  • Richard Raiswell, BA, MA, PhD – History, ARTS
  • Magdalena von Eccher, BMus, MMus, DMus – Music, ARTS
  • James Sentance BA, MA, PhD – Economics, ARTS
  • William Montelpare, PhD – Applied Human Sciences, SCIENCE
  • Stephanie Hamilton, BSc, DVM, MSc, Dipl. ACVAA – Companion Animals, AVC (Member at Large)
  • Shannon Fitzpatrick, BSc, MMath, PhD – Mathematical and Computational Sciences, SCIENCE


  • Mike Arfken – President, UPEI Faculty Association

*Charles Adeyanju, BA, MA, PhD - Sociology/Anthropology, ARTS (Temporary replacement for Robert Dennis, BA, MA, MA, PhD – Religious Studies, ARTS, July 1, 2023 – December 31, 2023)

**Laurie Brinklow BA, BEd, MAIS, PhD (Temporary replacement for Carlo Lavoie, BA, MA, PhD - Modern Languages, ARTS, July 1, 2022 - June 30, 2024)

Read the archive of past Senate meeting minutes