Board of Governors

The University of Prince Edward Island Board of Governors is instituted under the terms of the University Act, a statute of the province of Prince Edward Island. The Act vests in the Board the responsibilities of conduct, management, administration and control of the property, revenue, business and affairs of the University. The Board is responsible for the stewardship of the University and delegates the daily management of the University to the President and Senior Administration. The University works within a bi-cameral structure and, therefore, the Board, as the senior governing body, shares institutional governance with the Senate.

The UPEI Board of Governors consists of 26 members, which includes the UPEI Chancellor; UPEI President; President of Holland College; nine members appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council, six members elected by the UPEI Board of Governors; two members elected by and from the UPEI Alumni Association; two members elected by and from the Senate of the University; two members elected by and from the Faculty of the University; and two members elected by and from the student body of the University.


Pat Sinnott
Mr. Pat Sinnott
Toronto, ON
Retired Executive
Catherine Callbeck
Hon. Catherine Callbeck, CM, OPEI, LLD
Central Bedeque, PE
Retired Canadian Senator, former Premier of PEI, former MP
Dr. Alaa S. Abd-El-Aziz
Dr. Alaa S. Abd-El-Aziz
President and Vice-Chancellor
Charlottetown, PE
Kathy Hambly
Ms. Kathy Hambly
Chair - Development, Fundraising, and External Relations Committee
Charlottetown, PE
Retired Executive Director and Business Owner
Scott Harper
Mr. Scott D. Harper
Chair - Human Resources Committee
Kildare Capes, PE
Chief Executive Officer, Wind Energy Institute of Canada
Alex MacBeath
Mr. Alex MacBeath
Chair - Finance and Audit Committee
Murray Harbour, PE
CEO, Island Capital Partners
Shannon MacDonald
Ms. Shannon MacDonald
Chair - Governance and Appeals Committee
Toronto, ON
Managing Director, Health and Social Services, Accenture
Margo Thompson
Mrs. Margo Thompson
Vice-Chair; Chair - Property and Asset Committee
Summerside, PE
Mother and Volunteer
brian affouan, upeisu president
Mr. Brian Affouan
Charlottetown, PE
President, UPEI Student Union
Mary Best
Ms. Mary Best
Charlottetown, PE
Chartered Accountant, Arsenault Best Cameron Ellis
Rabin Bissessur
Dr. Rabin Bissessur
Charlottetown, PE
Professor and Chair, Department of Chemistry
Jim Bradley
Mr. Jim Bradley
Summerside, PE
CEO / General Manager, ADL
Bertha Campbell
Ms. Bertha Campbell
New London, PE
Retired Registered Nurse
Tim Carroll
Mr. Tim Carroll
Stratford, PE
Professor, Faculty of Business
Adam Fenech
Dr. Adam Fenech
Bonshaw, PE
Associate Professor, Environmental Studies / Biology
Janice Gillis
Dr. Janice Gillis
Summerside, PE
Peter Hayes
Mr. Peter Hayes
Bedford, NS
Retired Actuary
Geraldine Johnston
Dr. Geraldine Johnston
Montague, PE
General Practitioner
Ed Lawlor
Mr. Ed Lawlor
Charlottetown, PE
Retired Executive and Business Owner
Alexander (Sandy) MacDonald
Dr. Alexander (Sandy) MacDonald
Charlottetown, PE
President, Holland College
James Moran
Dr. James Moran
Charlottetown, PE
Associate Professor and Chair, Department of History
Perlene Morrison
Ms. Perlene Morrison
Charlottetown, PE
Liane Nelson
Dr. Liane Nelson
Hopewell Cape, NB
 Shauna Sullivan Curley
Mrs. Shauna Sullivan Curley, QC
Charlottetown, PE
Retired Deputy Minister and Lawyer
Brian Thompson
Mr. Brian Thompson
Charlottetown, PE
Retired Vice-President, Vector Aerospace