Important Dates - Residence

Important dates for students in residence. For all other important UPEI dates, please refer to the Academic Calendar's General Calendar Dates.


September 2021

Friday, September 3

  • Residence Move-in, 9:00 am–8:00 pm
  • First meal at the Dining Hall is at 4:00 pm

Saturday, September 4

  • Residence Move-in continues between 9:00 am–6:00 pm

Sunday, September 5

  • Returning residence students can move in

Monday, September 6

  • Labour Day: Residence Move-in continues, 9:00 am–6:00 pm

Tuesday, September 7

  • University resumes regular business hours. No classes.

Wednesday, September 8

  • Classes begin for the Fall Semester

October 2021

Monday, October 11

  • Thanksgiving

Tuesday, October 12–Friday, October 15

  • Mid-Semester Break

November 2021

Thursday, November 11

  • Remembrance Day

Thursday, November 25–Wednesday, December 1

  • Apply for an extension or to stay over the break

December 2021

Wednesday, December 8

  • Last day of classes

Saturday, December 11–Tuesday, December 21

  • Examinations. All residence rooms should be vacant within 24 hours after a student's final exam unless a student has made prior arrangements for a move-out extension, or has made a holiday break accommodation request (certain restrictions apply). Information about how to apply for a temporary extension will be made available in mid-November.

Wednesday, December 22

  • Residence closes for holiday break. *Students may apply for extensions or to stay for the holiday break*

January 2022

Sunday, January 9

  • Students can return to residence for the Second (Winter) Semester starting at 9:00 am
  • First meal at the dining hall will be served at 4:00 pm

Monday, January 10

  • Classes Begin

February 2022

Monday, February 21

  • Islander Day

Tuesday, February 22–Friday, February 25

  • Mid-semester break. No classes. Students may remain in residence for the break. Food service will be available but will only serve brunch and supper.

April 2022

Friday, April 8

  • Final Day of Winter Semester class

Monday, April 11–Tuesday, April 26

  • Examinations. All residence rooms should be vacant within 24 hours after a student's final exam unless a student has made prior arrangements for a move-out extension. Information about how to apply for a temporary extension will be made available by mid-March.

Friday, April 15

  • Good Friday

Monday, April 18

  • Easter Monday