Committee Membership

Animal Care Committee (ACC) members

  • Shona Whyte (Chair)
  • Paul Bernard (Biomedical Sciences Rep)
  • Shivani Ojha (Pathology and Microbiology Rep)
  • Tracy Doucette (Psychology Rep)
  • Adam Ogilvie (Companion Animals Rep)
  • Katie Hoddinott (Companion Animals Alternate Rep)
  • Stevan Springer (Biology Rep)
  • Sami Khedhiri (Non-Animal User Rep)
  • Bronwyn Crane (Health Management Rep)
  • J. McClure (Health Management Alternate Rep)
  • Nadja Bressan (Sustainable Design Engineering Rep)
  • Zoe Grutzner (Technician Rep)
  • Jessica Rock (Grad Student Rep)
  • Glenn Campbell (Community Rep)
  • Alex Dixon (Community Alternate Rep)
  • Jonathan Spears (University Veterinarian; ex officio)
  • Dan Paynter (AVC Manager of Animal Resources Rep, designate for Larry Hammell, AVC Acting Director of Animal Resources; ex officio)
  • Rhoda Speare (Biosafety Officer; ex officio)
  • Rebecca Mok (Office of Commercialization, Industry, and Innovation (OCII) Business Development Officer; ex officio)
  • Melissa Perry (ACC Coordinator; ex officio)
  • Laura Groves (Veterinary Student Rep - October to April)

ACC protocol submissions (new, renewal, or amendment) are due the first Friday of the month.

Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) members

  • Chelsea Martin (Chair)
  • Lisanework Ayalew
  • Adriana Catalli
  • Beatrice Despres
  • Brad Haltli
  • Yulin Hu
  • Angela Riveroll
  • Joel Ross
  • Travis Saunders
  • Shona Whyte
  • Nicole MacDonald Jay (Senior Technologist, Central Services Laboratory; ex officio)
  • Jonathan Spears (University Veterinarian; ex officio)
  • Liz Rostant (Health, Safety, and Environment Manager; ex officio)
  • Rhoda Speare (Biosafety Officer; ex officio)

IBC protocol submissions (new, renewal or amendment) are due the last Friday of the month.

Research Ethics Board (REB) members

  • Mike MacLellan (Chair; Applied Human Sciences/Science)
  • Esther Wohlgemut (Vice Chair; English/Arts)
  • Corinne Chappell (Advisor to the Vice-President Academic and Research on Indigenous Affairs)
  • Laurie Brinklow (Island Studies/Arts)
  • Margie Burns (Nursing)
  • Etienne Cote (Atlantic Veterinary College)
  • Sarah Hewko (Applied Human Sciences/Science)
  • Libby Osgood (Sustainable Design Engineering)
  • Suzanne Rath (Business)
  • Gabriela Arias de Sanchez (Education)
  • Jessica Strong (Psychology/Arts)
  • Emily MacQuarrie (Graduate Student rep)

REB protocol submissions that do not involve ‘more than minimal risk’ may be submitted at any time. REB protocol submissions that involve ‘more than minimal risk’ are due the last Friday of the month.