Senior Class Awards, 2019–2020

The University of Prince Edward Island acknowledges the achievements of our graduating students, as well as the generous support of donors, by presenting Senior Class Awards every year.

View the full list of Senior Class Award Winners

Several major prizes and medals are presented at the Convocation ceremonies while other awards are celebrated at a number of events during Convocation Week. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, UPEI was unable to present the 2020 Senior Class Awards in person and instead notified recipients on May 15.

Congratulations to all 2020 Senior Class Award Winners!

Major Prizes and Medals

Nora Biermann, PhD is the winner of the graduate Governor General's Medal and the Faculty of Graduate Studies Award of Distinction, which are awarded to the graduate student who has achieved the highest academic standing in a combination of course work and thesis, and whose record in the program is so distinguished as to warrant special recognition.

Liam Payne, Faculty of Science, is the winner of the undergraduate Governor General’s Medal, which is awarded to the graduating student who has achieved the highest aggregate in four years of an undergraduate program.

Allyson Warren, Faculty of Arts, is the recipient of the UPEI Alumni Association Graduating Student Award, the Ambrose Lee Graduation Prize (Arts), and the H. Wade MacLauchlan Raised Expectations Graduation Medal, for having the highest aggregate in the fourth year of the Arts program, and for having an academic standing that has improved the most, compared to his or her entering grades at UPEI during their 4 or 5 years of study.

Lorelei Kenny, Faculty of Arts, is the winner of the Dr. J. Regis Duffy Academic Achievement Award, awarded to a graduating student who has demonstrated to an outstanding degree the qualities of scholarship and leadership within the University community, and who is not receiving a Governor General's Medal. 

Duyifan (Kitty) Yin and Olivia Thompson are the recipients of the Dr. Margaret F. Munro Nursing Scholarship, awarded to the Nursing student(s) with the highest overall standing in fourth year.

Lorine Bourassa is the recipient of the Faculty of Education Prize, awarded to a graduating Education student who has embodied the principle of social justice, collaboration, and global mindedness and who has achieved a high level of scholarship and involvement throughout the Bachelor of Education program.

Kegan Bradley is the recipient of the Michael F. Cassidy Business Life Award, granted to the graduating Bachelor of Business Administration student with the highest aggregate in the last 20 three semester-hour courses.

Lucas Gallant is the recipient of the Professor Don MacEwen Faculty of Sustainable Design Engineering Inspirational Award, awarded to a student graduating from the Bachelor of Science in Sustainable Design Engineering program who is an inspiration to classmates; demonstrates academic excellence and exceptional engagement in project-based design; and has shown the highest ethical standards as demonstrated by Professor MacEwen over his many years of outstanding teaching and engineering practice.

Krystina Lewis is the recipient of the R. G. Thomson Academic Achievement Medal, awarded to a graduating student in Veterinary Medicine who has the highest cumulative grade average for all courses taken during the four-year program.

Karla Yepez, Faculty of Business, is the recipient of the Rory Beck Outstanding Academic and Athletic Leadership Award, awarded to the graduating student who has displayed the most outstanding dedication to athletics, academics, leadership and campus spirit throughout their undergraduate studies.

Amy Cormier is the recipient of the School of Mathematical and Computational Sciences Graduating Student Award, granted to the top graduating major or honours student from the School of Mathematical and Computational Sciences, as recommended by the SMCS Awards Committee.