UPEI celebrates the achievements of faculty and staff

| Events
Dr. Greg Keefe, interim president and vice-chancellor presents Nicole Murphy, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine with a 25-year service award
Dr. Greg Keefe, interim president and vice-chancellor presents Nicole Murphy, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine with a 25-year service award

Members of the UPEI community filled the UPEI Performing Arts Centre on May 23, 2024, to celebrate the achievements of their colleagues. During the event, the University Awards of Excellence and 25-Year Service Awards were presented to faculty, librarians, clinical veterinary professionals, clinical nursing instructors, sessional instructors, and staff members.

Dr. Greg Keefe, interim president and vice-chancellor, thanked the University community for contributing to the success of UPEI as a whole and its students in particular.

“Many people have contributed to the development of the UPEI Action Plan, including those in this room,” he said. “We have set the wheels in motion for change, and now we must work to implement the plan, build out our frontline teams, monitor progress, and continue to learn from—and reconcile with—each other. I congratulate all of you on your resiliency and express my gratitude for your patience and willingness to always put our students first. It is my honour to help present these awards, which acknowledge individuals for their outstanding contributions to the success of UPEI.”

Dr. Max Schaefer, sessional instructor of philosophy, Faculty of Arts, was presented with the University Teaching Excellence Award. This award recognizes outstanding contributions to teaching in one or more of the following areas: teaching effectiveness, teaching innovation, clinical instruction, and scholarship of teaching and learning and educational leadership.

Receiving University Research Excellence Awards was Dr. Edward MacDonald, professor of history, Faculty of Arts, who was recently conferred with the title professor emeritus. This award recognizes faculty members for outstanding research and scholarly accomplishments and significant contribution to advancing the University’s national and international reputation for research excellence.

Dr. Trung Ngo, professor of robotics and intelligent systems, Faculty of Sustainable Design Engineering, received the University Award for Excellence in Graduate Student Supervision for excellence in the supervision, mentorship, and support of graduate students.

University Awards for Exemplary Service were presented to Charlotte McCardle, director of strategic planning, Office of the President; Tyler Stapleton, web content architect/writer, Marketing and Communications; and Sherilyn Acorn, manager of Study and Stay and Exchange Programs, Office of Study Abroad and International Collaboration. This award is given to a UPEI employee who has demonstrated outstanding service and/or has made significant contributions to the University community beyond that normally expected of their position. 

Shannon Snow, Work-Integrated Learning faculty liaison, received the University Ambassador Award, presented to a UPEI employee who has made a significant positive impact on the University by advancing the strategic priorities of their unit, department, or faculty, or by fostering a sense of excitement on campus and promoting fellowship, goodwill, and belonging within the University community.

Jaclyn Borden, learning strategist, Student Affairs, received the University Award for Support of Student Success Award for making significant contributions to higher education by supporting student success.

“The University Awards of Excellence are a wonderful opportunity for the UPEI campus community to come together to celebrate the exceptional accomplishments of our colleagues,” said Sue Connolly, interim vice-president, People and Culture. “The nominations received were thoughtful, generous, and eloquent, and they demonstrated a commitment to one another and to UPEI that is inspiring. There are so many people on this campus doing good and important work and doing it with great care and consideration for both the students we serve and the colleagues we work with day in and day out. This year’s award recipients were all honoured for their exceptional service to our university, and they make us all proud to be part of this community.” 

The following faculty and staff were recognized for 25 years of service to UPEI:

  • Dr. Nola Etkin, Department of Chemistry, and dean, Faculty of Science;
  • Dr. Nebojsa Kujundzic, Department of Philosophy, Faculty of Arts;
  • Dr. Derek Lawther, Department of Physics, Faculty of Science;
  • Dr. Scott Lee, Department of Modern Languages, Faculty of Arts;
  • Brenda MacLean, McDougall Faculty of Business;
  • Nicole Murphy, Department of Pathology and Microbiology, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine;
  • Tracy O’Flaherty, Department of Health Management, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine;
  • Sung Ha Shin-Bouey, Department of Music, Faculty of Arts;
  • Dr. Marva Sweeney-Nixon, Department of Biology, Faculty of Science, and associate vice-president of research and dean, Faculty of Graduate Studies;
  • Christopher Vessey, School of Mathematical and Computational Sciences, Faculty of Science; 
  • Dr. Andrew Zinck, Department of Music, Faculty of Arts

Click on this link to hear from some of our 25-year service award winners!

Media Contact

Melanie Taylor
Communications Officer
Marketing and Communications

Relevant Links