Scholarship Information

Bookmark and Share
Society of Management Accountants of Prince Edward Island Legacy Award
Maximum Amount: $600.00
Faculty: Business
Current 4th Year
Occasion: Convocation
Process: Selected by the Scholarships and Awards Committee
Scholarship Type: Award
Description: Granted to the returning student with the highest average in Cost Accounting 3120.
Background: Support from the Society of Management Accountants of Prince Edward Island (CMA PEI) originated in 1991 with the establishment of an annual award given to a graduating student with the highest average mark in Cost Accounting Business 411 and Business 412. CMA PEI is dedicated to expanding its role in encouraging business students to enter the profession of the certified management accountant. As leaders in the field of management accounting, this designation opens a world of opportunity. CMAs are educated in three key areas; accounting, management and strategy. Certified management accountants offer distinct advantages to an organization and CMA PEI is committed to promoting the benefits of entering this important and highly-skilled profession, and supporting those who make that choice. In the year 2000, CMA Canada implemented an accreditation process to recognize institutions that offer quality educational programs according to prescribed standards. In June 2011, CMA Canada, the world leader in shaping strategic management accounting professionals to lead successful enterprises in the global marketplace, awarded a five-year accreditation of the Bachelor of Business Administration (Specialization in Accounting) at UPEI. UPEI is now among an exclusive group of academic institutions across C anada to have an undergraduate accounting program accredited by CMA Canada. Students who successfully complete the BBA (Specialization in Accounting) with a minimum grade point average of 75 percent are exempt from writing the CMA Entrance Examination. This select group of students will enter directly into the Strategic Leadership Program, the final step required to obtain CMA designation.
Scholarships and Awards

Relevant Links