UPEI students recognized for effective writing skills

Rewarding excellence in writing
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
The Hon. Wade MacLauchlan (left), award winners Lorelei Kenny and Damilola Emmanuel, and guest speaker Dr. Laurie Brinklow (right)

Forty-nine UPEI students were recognized for their effective writing skills at the seventh annual MacLauchlan Prizes for Effective Writing celebration held in Don and Marion McDougall Hall on Friday, January 25.

The MacLauchlan Prizes for Effective Writing were established in 2011 by the MacLauchlan family to honour Premier Wade MacLauchlan for his contributions to UPEI as president and vice-chancellor from 1999–2011. The prizes recognize the importance of effective writing as a foundational skill for academic success and lifelong learning.

UPEI President and Vice-Chancellor Alaa Abd-El-Aziz congratulated the award winners and thanked the MacLauchlan family for their generosity, and Premier MacLauchlan, an accomplished writer and author, for his commitment to encouraging excellence in writing among students.

Award-winning author and teacher Dr. Laurie Brinklow, co-ordinator of the Institute of Island Studies, addressed the gathering, saying “…words have power. And brilliantly strung-together words that tell the truth have even more power. They get people’s attention. They can change the world. Dare to wield your pen. Keep doing what you are doing and maybe we have a chance.”

Business student Damilola Emmanuel and Arts student Lorelei Kenny read from their award-winning submissions. The prizes were then presented by Premier MacLauchlan.

2018 MacLauchlan Prizes for Effective Writing recipients

Faculty of Arts: Matthew Edmond Arsenault, Kate Bartlett, Ryan Boulter, Robyn Dann, Conor Dever, Mariah Rose Donnelly, Emma Drake, Rachel Hamilton, Julia Erin Henderson, Lorelei Kenny, Tristan Malcolm Lewis, Megan Lane MacDonald, Fallon Anne Mawhinney, Tanner McCabe, Luo Qiang, Taylor Quinn, Nick Scott, Wanyi Shangguan, Brianna Squires, Karina Terentiev, Michaela Wipond

Faculty of Business: Damilola Emmanuel, Brian Young

Faculty of Education: Lois Barnett, Hailey Hennessey, Katherine Murray, Hannah Roberts, Marianne Tremblay-Abel

Faculty of Nursing: Jonelyn Dehaan, Brad Halman, Jaime Leigh Macdonald, Marie Antoinette Gue Pangan

Faculty of Science: Kerri Ballum, Stephanie Cairns, Emma Campbell, Madison Faith Clarke, Alycia Maribeth Cooper, Jasmine Grace Frizzell, Marlee Gregory, Hillary Isleifson, William McQuaid, Precious Oluwabukunm Ojo, Mark Saunders, Maeve Studley, Emma Taylor, Zachary Theriault, Mangyu Zang

Faculty of Veterinary Medicine: Jessica D’Amico, Jihyun Kelly Yoo

Faculty/staff: Dr. Sean Weibe, Faculty of Education

The MacLauchlan Prizes for Effective Writing distribute up to $30,000 annually in awards. The family has made previous contributions to the Harry W. MacLauchlan Scholarships in Entrepreneurial Leadership, MacLauchlan Arena, Robertson Library, athletic scholarships, and student prizes in mathematics and entrepreneurship.


The University of Prince Edward Island prides itself on people, excellence, and impact and is committed to assisting students reach their full potential in both the classroom and community. With roots stemming from two founding institutions—Prince of Wales College and Saint Dunstan’s University—UPEI has a reputation for academic excellence, research innovation, and creating positive impacts locally, nationally, and internationally. UPEI is the only degree granting institution in the province and is proud to be a key contributor to the growth and prosperity of Prince Edward Island.


Anna MacDonald
Communications Officer
UPEI Marketing and Communications
(902) 566-0949
Contact UPEI