The University is governed by a Board of Governors and a Senate, instituted under the terms of the University Act. The Senate is composed of the President of the University; the Vice-Presidents of the University; the Deans of Faculties and Schools; the Registrar; the University Librarian; the Director of the Centre for Life-Long Learning; six members of the student body, at least one of whom is a mature or part-time student, or both; the President of the Student Union; one member of the Board of Governors; one member of the Alumni Association; and twenty-two members elected from the full-time teaching faculty.


  • Dr. Don McDougall, Chancellor

President and Vice-Chancellor:

  • Dr. Alaa Abd-El-Aziz, President and Vice-Chancellor


  • Dr. Robert Gilmour, Vice President Academic and Research
  • Ms. Jackie Podger, Vice President Administration and Finance


  • Dr. Nebojsa Kujundzic, Faculty of Arts 
  • Dr. Juergen Krause, Faculty of Business 
  • Dr. Ron MacDonald, Faculty of Education 
  • Dr. Gulrose Jiwani, Faculty of Nursing
  • Dr. Kathy Gottschall-Pass, Faculty of Science (interim)
  • Dr. Greg Keefe, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine

The University of Prince Edward Island is divided into six faculties: Arts, Business, Science, Education, Nursing, and Veterinary Medicine; and two schools: Sustainable Design Engineering, and Mathematical and Computational Sciences. 

Contact UPEI