External Teaching Awards

Association of Atlantic Universities Awards

AAU Distinguished Teaching Awards

This award recognizes excellence in university teaching over a number of years, primarily at the undergraduate level. An individual nominated for this award will be characterized by a proven commitment to enhanced student engagement and learning, a reflective and intentional approach to teaching practices, and dedication to teaching improvement. 

The deadline for applications is set annually, usually during the first week of May. Each AAU member institution may forward nominations for either or both of the Distinguished Teaching and the Educational Leadership Award. The nomination dossiers must be submitted by UPEI’s Teaching and Learning Centre. More about nomination guidelines.

AAU Educational Leadership Awards

This award recognizes sustained commitment to the improvement of university teaching by providing leadership in developing institutional structures and processes, and creating an environment in which teaching excellence is valued and fostered. In adjudicating this award, the Selection Committee looks for evidence of leadership and influence that is broad, lasting, and pervasive within, and perhaps beyond, the nominee’s own institution.

The deadline for applications is typically near the beginning of May. The nomination dossiers must be submitted by UPEI’s Teaching and Learning Centre. More about nomination guidelines.

Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education

3M Teaching Fellows

Nominations are solicited yearly for the prestigious 3M National Teaching Fellowship. The community of 3M National Teaching Fellows embodies the highest ideals of teaching excellence and scholarship with a commitment to encourage and support the educational experience of every learner. The Teaching and Learning Centre helps identify potential nominees, assists in preparing the nominations, and submits them, typically in August or September. More about nomination guidelines.

D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning

Established in 2012, the D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning, sponsored by D2L (Desire2Learn), celebrates and recognizes up to five post-secondary educators each year for their innovative approaches that promote student-centred teaching and learning. More about nomination guidelines

Alan Blizzard Award

The Alan Blizzard Award was established to encourage, identify, and publicly recognize those whose exemplary collaboration in teaching enhances student learning. The Award seeks to make visible and disseminate scholarship of teaching and learning, based on the values and practices of collaborative teaching. This is a biennial award that recognizes and celebrates excellence in collaborative teaching and learning in post-secondary education. While educators are encouraged to cultivate collaborative approaches to student learning, they must also be encouraged and supported to engage in collaborative teaching. More about the award.