Three new awards established at 13th biennial L.M. Montgomery Institute conference

Thursday, June 28, 2018
Dr. Philip Smith, the Honourable Antoinette Perry, Jennie Macneill, and Dr. Elizabeth “Betsy” Epperly (Anne Victoria Photography)

The 13th biennial conference of the L.M. Montgomery Institute (LMMI) established three new awards to honour special contributions to the mission of the institute.

The L.M. Montgomery Institute Legacy Award is presented for outstanding lifetime contributions in building Montgomery scholarship and/or public engagement. The inaugural recipient of this awards are Dr. Elizabeth Waterson, Dr. Mary Rubio, Jennie Macneill and the late John Macneill. The Reverend Dr. Francis W.P. Bolger Award recognizes outstanding contributions to our appreciation of Montgomery and place in Prince Edward Island, through scholarship, education, preservation, creative works, or by other means. The award went this year to the Lucy Maud Montgomery Birthplace Trust. The Dr. Elizabeth R. Epperly Award for Outstanding Early Career Paper was presented to Bonnie Tulloch for her paper “Canadian Anne-girls: Literary Descendants of Montgomery’s Redheaded Heroine.”


The University of Prince Edward Island prides itself on people, excellence, and impact and is committed to assisting students reach their full potential in both the classroom and community. With roots stemming from two founding institutions—Prince of Wales College and Saint Dunstan’s University—UPEI has a reputation for academic excellence, research innovation, and creating positive impacts locally, nationally, and internationally. UPEI is the only degree granting institution in the province and is proud to be a key contributor to the growth and prosperity of Prince Edward Island.

Dave Atkinson
Research Communications Officer
Marketing and Communication
(902) 620-5117
Contact UPEI