Services for:
Choose a category:
Choose a service:

Awards and Honours

Each year, Diversity and Social Justice Studies is pleased to be able to award three monetary prizes to deserving students who are minoring in the program. The Elizabeth Fox Percival Memorial Scholarship is funded through a scholarship fund established in 2001 in memory of Dr. Percival, who taught at UPEI from 1971 to 2001, and who was one of the primary founders of Women's Studies at the University. The Bonnie MacPherson award is funded through an endowment made to the University by the family of former UPEI and Women's Studies student Bonnie MacPherson. The Friends of Women's Studies Award is made possible by the generous donations of a group of community and academic supporters, the Friends of Women's Studies, started by Dr. Percival.

The Dr. Elizabeth Fox Percival Memorial Award

This award will be given to a returning UPEI student in high academic standing who demonstrates focus on gender issues is Psychology and Women`s Studies and a commitment to advancing social justice across campus and/or inthe larger community. A recipient will be chosen based on a recommendation from the Coordinator of Women's Studies and the Chair of the Psychology Department, and will be approved by the UPEI Scholarships and Awards committee. This award is given out at Deans' Honours and Awards Night in the fall semester. Past recipients of this award are:

  • 2010-11: Heather Tasker (awarded Fall 2011)
  • 2009-10: Lyndsay Hughes (awarded Fall 2010)
  • 2008-09: Kerrilynn Sweeney (awarded Fall 2009)
  • 2007-08: Erica VanDriel (awarded Fall 2008)
  • 2006-07: Becky Snow (awarded Fall 2007)
  • 2005-06: Melissa MacDonald (awarded Fall 2006)
  • 2004-05: Susan Fitzpatrick (awarded Fall 2005)
  • 2003-04: Nancy Morris (awarded Fall 2004)
  • 2002-03: Jenifer Arsenault (awarded Fall 2003)
  • 2001-02: Hope Sollows (awarded Fall 2002)

The Bonnie Lynne MacPherson Award in Women's Studies

The Bonnie L. MacPherson Memorial Award is presented annually to a graduating student who has exemplified excellence in scholarship in the Women`s Studies Program. A recipient will be chosen based upon a recommendation from the Coordinator of Women`s Stdies and will be approved by the UPEI Scholarships and Awards Committee. Past recipients of this award are:

  • 2011-2012: Marianne Macgrath
  • 2010-11: Kathleen Beaton
  • 2009-2010: Erica Van Driel
  • 2008-09:
  • 2007-08: Becky Snow
  • 2006-07: Ryan Woolfrey
  • 2005-06: Nancy Morris
  • 2004-05: Bronwyn Rodd
  • 2003-04:
  • 2002-03:
  • 2001-02: Yvonne Haskin
  • 2000-01: Tara Inman
  • 1999-2000: Kelly Robinson
  • 1998-99: Kim Tanner
  • 1997-98: L. Maureen Lynburner
  • 1996-97: Crystal Gavard
  • 1995-96:
  • 1994-95: Kara Griffin
  • 1993-94:

The Friends of Women's Studies Award

The Friends of Women`s Studies Award is presented annually, upon recommendation of the Coordinator of Women`s Studies, to a returning full-time student with an expressed interest in pursuing Women`s Studies through active participation in courses, and who has also demonstrated a strong commitment to social justice. This prize is awarded at the annual Deans`Honours and Awards ceremony held each fall. Past recipients of this award are:

  • 2010-11: Amanda Creamer (awarded Fall 2011)
  • 2009-10: Marianne Macgrath (awarded Fall 2010)
  • 2008-09: Erica Van Driel (awarded Fall 2009)
  • 2007-08:(awarded Fall 2008)
  • 2006-07: Kerrilynn Sweeney (awarded Fall 2007)
  • 2005-06: Maria Maund (awarded Fall 2006)
  • 2004-05: Lauren Warbeck (awarded Fall 2005)
  • 2003-04: co-winners — Virgina Reddin and Melissa MacDonald (awarded Fall 2004)
  • 2002-03: (awarded Fall 2003)
  • 2001-2002: Laura Fanning (awarded Fall 2002)
  • 2000-2001:
  • 1999-2000: co-winners: Tammy-Lyn Wood and Joelene Gregory (awarded Fall 2000)
  • 1998-99: Kelly Robinson (awarded Fall 1999)
  • 1997-98: Lesa Light (awarded Fall 1998)
  • 1996-97: Kim Tanner (awarded Fall 1997)
  • 1995-96: Trish Daley (awarded Fall 1996)
  • 1994-95: Sonya Hayne and Candice Perry (awarded Fall 1995)
  • 1993-94: Shelley Carroll and Kara Griffin (awarded Fall 1994)
Ann Braithwaite
Diversity and Social Justice Studies
(902) 628-4312
Contact UPEI