Services for:
Choose a category:
Choose a service:
Governance and Structure


The Senate of the University of Prince Edward Island is constituted as follows:

Ex Officio

  • Alaa Abd-El-Aziz, BSc, MSc, PhD, President
  • Robert Gilmour, AB, PhD, Vice-President Academic and Research
  • Jackie Podger, BA, MA, MIR, CMA, Vice-President Administration and Finance
  • Kathleen Kielly, BA, Registrar
  • Neb Kujundzic, BA, MA, PhD, Dean of Arts
  • Deborah MacLellan, BSc, MSc, PhD, Dean of Science
  • Ron MacDonald, BSc, BEd, MEd, PhD, Dean of Education
  • Juergen Krause, MSc, PhD, Dean of Business Administration
  • Greg Keefe, DVM, MSc, Dean of Veterinary Medicine
  • Jo-Ann MacDonald BN (St. FX), MN, PhD, Interim Dean of Nursing
  • Donald Moses, MLIS, Interim University Librarian
  • Dana Kenny, President of Student Union

Alumni Representative

  • Colleen Parker (July 1, 2014 – June 30, 2017)

Board Representative

  • Linnell Edwards


  • Margaret Doyle (MAPUS)
  • Babafella Awosile
  • Stephen Wilfeard
  • John Rix
  • Owen Shaw
  • Zak Jarvis

Elected by the Teaching Faculty

Term expires 30 June 2016

  • Ann Braithwaite, BA, MA, PhD – Diversity & Social Justice Studies
  • Barb Campbell, RN, BN, MN, PhD – Nursing
  • Susan Graham, BBA, MBA, MPA, EdD – Business
  • Sandra McConkey, DVM, PhD, Dipl. ACVP - Biomedical Sciences
  • Jane Preston, BEd, MEd, PhD - Education

Term expires 30 June 2017

  • Greg Irvine, BMus, MMUS, DM – Music
  • Sharon Myers, BA, MA, PhD – History
  • Jim Sentence, BA, MA, PhD – Economics
  • Rabin Bissesseur, BSc, MSc, PhD – Chemistry
  • Amy MacFarlane, BBA, CA – Business (Faculty At Large)
    • Andrew Carrothers, BScEE, MBA, PhD, CFA, Peng. Business covering Amy's maternity leave to June 30, 2016)
  • Jason Doiron, BA Hons, PhD, Psychology (Faculty At Large)
    • Tracey Doucette, BA, PhD, Psychology, will be covering Jason's sabbatical leave from Jan 1 -      June 30, 2016

Term Expires 30 June 2018

  • Gary Conboy, BSc, DVM, PhD – Pathology & Microbiology
  • Kathy Gottschall-Pass, BSc, PhD – Applied Human Sciences
  • Geoffrey Lindsay, BA, BComm (Concordia), MA, PhD - English
  • Lisa Chilton, BA, MA, PhD – History (Faculty at Large)
  • Sophie St. Hilaire, DVM, MSc, PhD - AVC
  • Peter Foley, BSc, MSc, DVM, Diplomate ACVIM - AVC
  • Nasser Saad, BSc, MSc, PhD – Mathematics & Statistics
  • Benet Davetian, BA, MA, PhD - Anthropology
  • Cathy Ryan, BSc, MA, PhD – Psychology
  • Malcolm Murray, BA, MA, PhD - Philosophy
  • Michael van den Heuvel, BSc, PhD– Biology & Biomedical Sciences
    • Kevin Teather, BSc, MSc, PhD – Biology will be replacing Michael van den Heuvel, while he is on sabbatical leave (July 1, 2015-June 30, 2016)

Senate meeting minutes can be found on the Publications page